The attached Long Range Strategic Plan describes goals and objectives that will help St. John Neumann continue on its path to being one of the premier schools in the region, while also continuing in providing the highest standard of Catholic faith formation. St. John Neumann Catholic School | Maryville, Illinois | About Us St. John Neumann Catholic School | Maryville, Illinois | Parishes
St Johns Crusaders

Around SJN

News & Events




Mission Statement

In humble service to God, we are committed to providing the highest standard of Catholic faith formation and academic excellence for the children God has entrusted to us.

Our History

St. John Neumann Catholic School was built in 1978 as a parish school for the central Metro-East area. It was founded under the direction and vision of Bishop Joseph McNicholas.  His dedication to Catholic education has led to a school that is now fully networked with a state-of-the-art computer lab, library, music room, science lab, full size gymnasium, and dedicated chapel for daily prayer.

The School’s modest beginning consisted of just five classrooms, K through fourth grades.  Under the Bishop’s careful direction, a plan of expansion followed by adding an additional classroom each year until the desired goal of eight grades was achieved.  St. John Neumann graduated its first class of bright, disciplined, well-educated students in 1983.

The Quilligan Center was added in 1994 in honor of Father Maurice Quilligan, of Mother of Perpetual Help.  This facility hosts all indoor athletic activities, all-school masses, serves as the cafeteria for daily lunches, and hosts banquets and other school functions, such as the school auction, school dances, PTU, meetings, and graduation ceremonies.




The school has steadily grown in stature as one of the areas finest spiritual and educational institutions.  A large percentage of our graduates go on to pursue honors level classes and advanced Placement classes in their High schools.

There are 215 students enrolled in PreK-8th Grades for the 2016-17 school year.

Long Range Strategic Plan (LRSP)

View the letter to families by clicking here

View the LRSP by clicking here


Click on an image below to view the pdf.


School Board

The school board is comprised of four members from each of the parishes. Each of these members is asked to serve a three year term. The Principal and the Canonical Administrator are all non-voting members. The members of the board for the 2016-17 school year are:

Fr. Alan HunterCanonical Administrator - St. Jerome
Fr. Joseph HavrilkaMember Pastor - MPH
Fr. Albert AllenMember Pastor - St. Cecilia
Ms. Laura KretzerPrincipal
Mr. Mike SpillersPresident
Mr. Jim RileyImmediate Past President
Mr. Jeremy BonkVice-President and Buildings & Grounds Chair
Mrs. Ashley MartinezEducation Chair
Mrs. Janet RuthMember
Mrs. Shari CobbMarking Chair
Mr. Anthony RonzoMember
Mr. Adam CroghanMember
Mr. Mike DiakMember
Mrs. Lisa SchrageMember
Mr. James CraneyPolicy Chair
Mr. Bart MillerFinance Chair

Future Meeting Dates

The board normally meets on the first Tuesday of each month, except July, starting at 7:00 p.m. Anyone is welcome to attend.

Contact us

142 Wilma Drive
Maryville, IL 62062




        142 Wilma Drive Maryville, IL 62062-5435     Phone: (618) 345-7230     facebook
Questions? Contact us at